Saturday, December 31, 2011

New York Times

Justin's picture was in the local paper.  There was an article about the rock climbing league and a picture with a bunch of kids at the rock wall and Justin was in it.

L: "Justin, are you excited about being in the paper?"  J: "Well, it was just the Seminole Chronicle not the New York Times.  I would be excited if my picture was in the New York Times."

....

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Really?!

We are hanging up Christmas lights in the guard room...

L: "Did you check the lights and make sure they work before I put them up?"  J: "Yup! They work but there are a few lights out.  They are kind of old Coach Lori."  L: "They are old but not as old as the lights on your Christmas tree!"  J: "Touche."

I look at Liz...."Did he really just correctly use touche?"

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

It's 2011....

As Justin is kicking his brother under the table at breakfast, I kindly remind him that it's redemption day. J:"Whats redemption mean?" L:"Do you know what redeem means?" J:"Yes, it's when you get a code and you go online to type it in and redeem it."

It's 2011!!

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Football!

Yesterday I took Justin to the UCF game.  It was his first live football game!  I prepped him with the basics of football and he was ready to go!  Of course there were some pretty hilarious moments....


  • We got to our seats... "I've never been this high without a seat belt on!"
  • Waiting for the game to start.... "This is great, now I can look at whatever I want and don't have to look at what the camera guy wants to look at!"
  • We scored a touchdown... "Now that we got points do we do one of those kick things?"
  • During a commercial break.... "Live sports are great, if I was at home I would be watching a toilet commercial."
  • Me explaining forward progress.... J: "I think the ball should go where he was tackled."  L: "That's why it's called forward progress, he gets it where he caught it even though he got tackled backwards."  J: "Well, I guess it's fair, he did catch the ball."
It was a fantastic time overall!

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Christmas List!

I told Justin to start his Christmas list today.  So far this is what it looks like...

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.

1 - most wanted   7 - least wanted

"I can't think of anything to put on it."  "Then you get nothing!"

"Justin, can you put a car for Coach Lori on it?"  "Why would I waste one of my wishes on you?"  THANKS!

When you are eight....

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

When you are eight....

Justin and I hung out all day Sunday so he didn't have to go to the swim meet and so I wouldn't sit in bed all day!!  He might have been the best Justin form EVER!  Here are two amazing stories!!

As we pulled into the mall I started complaining about the 'Mommy to Be' spaces.  J: "What does that mean?"  L: "Remember when Coach Liz was pregnant?  Like that, you are a mommy to be."  J: "Oh."  L: "You know I could park there, maybe one day I'll be a mom and that's like being a mommy to be."  J: "Or you could grow up and be an old cat lady."
I text Amanda this story and her response was exact: "He is eight...how does he know about old cat ladies?!"

As we are walking through the mall looking for a giant eraser that he 'had to have' we passed by the fancy dress/bridal store.  L: "I know you don't care Justin but look at that dress, it is amazing!!  It would look fantastic on!"  J: "Well why don't you just buy it?"  L: "Well you can't buy a fancy dress without having a place to wear it."  J: "You could go out to a fancy dinner."  L: "With who?  Do you know a 31 year old boy that you haven't introduced me to?"  J: "No but I know a 41 year old one!"  L: "WHO?"  J: "Well my dad!"  L: "Oh Justin, he is married to YOUR mom!"  J: "Yeah but you could go out to dinner with him!  My mom goes out to dinner with her friends and you are friends with my dad so he could take you to a fancy dinner."
When you are eight this all makes sense!!

Monday, October 17, 2011

Trying to catch up!!

Here is a conversation that happened when I coached the other night...
Another swimmer to Justin: How long have you known Coach Lori?  J: A long time...  L:  Hmm, well it's been about four years!  Swimmer: That's a long time.  J: Yeah four years....its been a good four years!


Justin and I made his Halloween costume Saturday.  Some funny things...
L: Justin, I'm not really dressed to go to the mall and see people.  J: It's ok Coach Lori, no one will judge you.  They will judge you because they will think that you are my mom and they won't know that you are my adult best friend.  L: Oh, adult best friend?  I got demoted?  J: No, I just need to have an adult best friend and a my age best friend.  L: Oh ok!

J: I really hate shopping, my feet hurt!  L: You better find a wife that does not like to shop or you are in trouble!  J: I thought all girls love to shop.  L:  Well all girls don't love to shop for everything.  J: But they all love to shop for shoes right?

Sunday, September 11, 2011

Tailgating

Tailgating with Justin was a fun time!  Lots of good stories but I'm still recovering and can't remember them all at the moment.  However, this was the best saying of the day!

"Coach Lori, I'm so hot I stopped sweating!"

Thursday, August 18, 2011

Concussion

I asked Justin about school today and what special he had. He said computer, I asked what he did. J: "Well nothing really but we had to introduce ourselves and I said 'My name is Justin, I had two fishes that died and I really like the word concussion.'"

Oh Justin....

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Humor Scale

I know it's been a while!!  We see Justin at least once a day, usually twice and he is funny all the time!  It was a good one today though!

L: "Justin, I have something funny to show you."  J: "On a scale of 1-10 how funny is it?  You usually tell me things that are about a 7."  L: "Oh, um, I'm not sure how funny..."     I show him....    J: "Coach Lori, that was about a 4 on the humor scale."

Seriously?!?

Saturday, May 14, 2011

Oh geez

J: "You know what saying I don't like? Ladies first." L:"Why?" J: "Well it means that I am always last." L: "How are you going to find a girl to marry you if you aren't polite?" J: "Call me Single Justin!"

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Past Due!

Liz: "Justin, what did you have for snack today?"  J: "Over due trail mix."  Liz: "Yeah?"  J: "Yeah well it was due on March 29th but since it was healthy it was ok that it was over due."

Lori: "Justin, Coach Amanda is outside, maybe you should go see her!"  J: "Ok."  Liz: "Leave your iPod touch in the office."  J: "I always leave my personal belongings on Coach Lori's desk when I go to the pool deck."

Where does he come up with these things?!?

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Seriously?

For those of you that only follow JSOTD on this blog I'm sorry you have missed the whole Second Grade Prom. It has been AMAZING! Justin has decided to "wash his hands of it" (his words).

I still shouldn't be typing but today Justin had a classic so I had to share!

J: "Mom can I have my suit to change? I want to beat the swim suit changing rush."

Who knew there was a rush?!?

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Busted!

This may be my only JSOTD this week.  I have to wear a brace on my thumb and it is SUPER hard to type!

Here goes...

Taylor told Justin that she liked his shirt.  J: "Yeah, I forgot to put my t-shirt on.  My parents make me wear collared shirts to school  BUT the last two weeks I have been wearing t-shirts.  Every morning my mom has been yelling at Jeremy to do good on the FCAT and since she has been busy yelling at him she didn't notice that I wore a t-shirt.  This morning though, BUSTED!!!  I got busted and I had to change."

I cross referenced the story....only the busted part is correct!

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Bathrooom!

So Justin is obsessed with the girls bathroom at the school cafeteria.  He thinks there are parties going on and the  'SGC'... Secret Girls Club is happening!

For the past week or so he has been telling us how Charlotte is going to dress him up like a girl so he can get into the bathroom.

Yesterday he showed me how he has been practicing talking like a girl.  His girl name is Alexa.  (I have video!)

Today he told Carolina and I that today Charlotte taught him 'that hair flip'.  J: "You know, that thing girls do with their hair.  Like this...he demonstrated."  

I can only imagine what tomorrow will bring!

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

4 Things!

Four reasons it is better to be a girl according to Justin!

1. Girl bikes have much better and squishier seats.
2. Girl bikes come with baskets.  Even though they have flowers and not flames.
3. Girls only have to do girl push-ups and that is not fair.
4. The lunch ladies do not think the girls are having a party in the bathroom since girls seem so innocent.  The lunch ladies always check on the boys since they do not seem innocent.


Ahhh to be seven!  (Almost eight!)

Friday, April 15, 2011

HOT!

Apparently this is not a well known JSOTD and it happens to be my favorite!!


As told by Amanda....


Justin Story of the Day!
First of all, I'm really excited I get to do this!! Here we go...

So, Justin came and sat next to me at the cart and I told him to tell me about his life. I asked him if there were any girls at school that he liked. He said no and that it was stupid because he was only in 2nd grade. We continue this conversation and somehow it gets brought up that I don't have boyfriend (I don't know why that always happens, but anyway..). Then Justin proceeds to tell me... "Coach Amanda I can tell you how to get a boyfriend, it's easy! All you have to do is run up to a boy and yell 'You're hot!'" Me: "Oh really? That's all I have to do?!" J: "Yeah, you're just complimenting them. It will work every time." and THEN he tells me "You should try it on Coach Joe." Me: "Justin, Coach Joe is married." J: "I know, but it would be funny because you would get embarrassed and I've never really seen you embarrassed before."

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Paperwork

Besides the Amanda JSOTD this is the best EVER!

Kind of a long story.  Here are the players.....T: Taylor (Head Guard at the pool), A: Ashley (one of the coaches), Justin and I!

So Justin had been in the office but I had to run out and do something.  He came running out to change for practice.  I went back in the office.  T: "You would not believe Justin today.  He is planning on buying a house with Charlotte from his class."  A: "Yeah, he is so funny!"  In comes Justin.  L: "What am I Justin..chopped liver?"  J: "What?"  L: "You are going to buy a house with Charlotte?  What about me?"  J: "Oh yeah, we have a plan.  So Charlotte and I are going to buy a $499,000 house.  It was going to be six people living in it but Charlotte talked to everyone about it so now it is going to be 21 people."  A: "That's a lot of people, how many bedrooms?"  J: "Well, three.  Chris and I are going to live in the master bedroom.  Charlotte and (some girl I can't remember) are going to share one, and (other girls I don't remember)"   T: "Where are you going to get the money for this house?"  J: "I'm not sure yet."  T: "You better start washing dishes."  J: "Well, you only get three dollars a week washing dishes and we need at least five thousand dollars a week to buy the house."  A: "How are you going to get places if everyone in the house is in second grade?"  J: "Well Charlotte said we shouldn't tell our parents about this and I said that I think there is paperwork for buying a house.  And now we need rides."   Storytelling interjection....PAPERWORK?!?   J: "We figured it out there is going to be eight Wii's because everyone is going to bring one and we are going to set them up in all the rooms.  And maybe we will have enough money to buy Star Fox 64."  Then Justin runs off to practice.

Where in the world does he come up with these things?!?  And paperwork?!

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

BFF is Forever!

So Justin was in the office as usual but in slightly rare form!

He thought it would be funny to call me his 'old lady'.  I was not amused!  L: "Justin, we are no longer BFF's since you called me that."  J: "Well fine but we are still BF's."  L: "What?"  J: "Well we were BFF's which is Best Friends Forever and now you don't want to be but since it was forever then we still have to be Best Friends."  L: "Oh, well then."

I know he is seven but it is kind of logical!  Apparently BFF really is forever and there is no cancellation!

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Shoes!

Justin pretends to not know how to tie his shoes.  He does.  Yesterday...  L: "Justin, tie your shoes or I won't talk to you."   J: "You are starting to sound like my mother."

My toenail is falling off...it's gross.  L: "Justin, do you want to see my toenail?  It is kind of gross."  J: "Yeah!"  L: "Oh, last night after I soaked it you could see the end of the toenail under my skin but now that it is dry you can't."  J: "Let's go get a bucket of water!"  L: "No!"  Crazy!

Friday, March 25, 2011

Quotes!

I'm going to keep this up dated with funny things Justin says!!

"It was like a foot away from you...like my foot not twelve inches."

"You are doing pretty good for a 30 year old."

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

They keep coming tonight!

Justin is acting crazy!  L: "Justin, your trip to the zoo is on the line!  Anything else and we are NOT going."  J: (pats me on the back) "You are so funny Coach Lori!"  I might kill him!

Thanks Dad!

The boys and I are eating Chick-fil-a at my house.  My dad was asking about swim practice.  I said that Justin said I made him go.

Dad: "Justin, what are we going to do with her?"  Justin (very seriously): "I know right!"

Thanks Dad!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Justin is on my laptop.  "Your laptop is not great but it is acceptable."   L: "Really?  Then give it back to me!"

Monday, March 21, 2011

What's a Catholic?

So there is no way that I can retell the amazing conversation that Liz, Justin, and I had today but I can tell you that we talked about Mellow Mushroom, Catholics, not eating meat on Fridays during lent, mushroom farms, and babies in bellies!  You can only imagine!

I can tell you another story.  Joe (who is an adult swim coach at the pool) was in the office and I was telling him the new head guard was starting this week and did he think he could behave himself for at least a week?  Justin: "That is the same thing you said to me!"   Joe: 'She is telling all the young boys that."  Justin: "But you aren't a young boy."  Joe: "Well Lori is calling you young and me immature."   HA!  True!

Sunday, March 20, 2011

Popular Scale

So Justin was having an amazing day the other day and just talking away to Liz and I.  We learned all about how second grade works these days!  So Justin told us about the cool scale and the popular scale and the normal scale.  Here is the exciting story about the popular scale!

L:"So who is the most popular right now?"  J:"Well the person at the top of the popular scale is the boy that is the most hurt."  L: "Huh?!"  J:"Well, the boy that is the most hurt is the one that all the girls go around and make sure he is ok."  L: "Oh really, I see."  (How ridiculous!)  J: "I was the most popular for a half day on Wednesday since I had that little barfing thing this week."  L: "Oh, but only for a half day?"  J: "Yeah."

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Epic!

Justins new word is epic....where does he get this stuff?

So today he was playing with my iPhone. J:"No offense Coach Lori but you are not doing good on Angry Birds." L:"Well Justin, this thing called my job gets in the way of playing with my phone." J:"Maybe you should stay home and play all day." L:"Would you like to pay me for the time missed?" J:"No I guess you can be kinda bad at Angry Birds."

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Fantastic!

I found a way to update on my iPhone so now you can have up to date stories!!

Just a short story today...
J:"What does PS mean anyway?". L:"Ummm Im not sure. Oh wait it means post script! Aren't you impressed?". J:"Kind of actually."

Monday, March 7, 2011

Sup?

Justin's newest words:  Sup?  and  Whaddup with...

So exciting, Amanda didn't live the Justin Stories of the Day but she got to hear them in person!!  Yay for Coach Amanda being home for Spring Break!

I had cupcakes today so I went to get Justin to have one.  L: "Justin, I have chocolate cupcakes...want to come eat one?"  J: "Ok"   He slams the car door.  J: "Just so you know, I'm only coming with you because you have cupcakes."   Thanks!

There is a swim meet at the pool this weekend.  I have to work.  Justin has to come watch his brother.  L: "Justin, are we going to hang out this weekend since I have to be at the pool and you have to be at the pool?"  J: "Well, I guess it would be a good time for us to hang out."  Thanks...again!

Justin also admitted he doesn't hang out as much anymore because the iPad is more exciting.

Thursday, March 3, 2011

A block!

Justin was just hanging out.  I was on the phone with Liz...speaker phone!

L to Liz: "So I got this email and it said she was interested in Barracudas but to call her.  Why wouldn't she call me if she wanted to talk to me!  I also got this email from a lady saying that her daughter who is seven can only swim freestyle but she wants to be on Barracudas."  Justin: "She can't be on Barracudas if she only knows freestyle.  I am seven and I know ALL the strokes, why doesn't she?"   Liz: "Well Justin, not everyones parents put them in swim lessons early so that they can learn all the strokes."  J: "Ok."   J: "Coach Lori, I think you need a block on your email so only Coach Liz can email you.  And maybe people about Barracudas but only ones that know ALL the strokes not ones that want you to call them."  Lori: "Oh yeah, you think a block would be a good idea?"  J: "Yeah, I think it would work."

If only I could block my email....

Saturday, February 26, 2011

Basketball!

I couldn't find anyone to go to the UCF basketball game with me so I thought I would call up and see if Justin wanted to go!  Justin and Alex decided to come with me....how exciting!  You can imagine how exciting it was to go to a sporting event with Justin who asks just shy of 2039 questions a day regularly!!

I saw Justin at the pool after we had already made plans.  L: "Justin, are you excited about the game tonight?"  J: "I'm really excited that I get to eat my dinner while sitting in a chair watching the game!"  Oh the priorities of a seven year old!

Some hilarious things Justin said tonight:

"What color costumes do we want to win?"
"Why is that guy wearing a sock on his arm?"
"What is a conference?"  (I said...ask your mom!)
After I explained the bonus...."Coach Lori, could you explain that a little simpler?"
"Why is that guy yelling behind us?"
"What is an air ball?"

And UCF won on an amazing shot from AJ with 1.3 seconds left!  Justin said "That last seven seconds was EPIC!"

Oh Justin....

Monday, February 21, 2011

Influence!

I haven't seen Justin in over week since I was sick and then he was at a swim meet.  (Jeremy kicked butt at the meet by the way!)  He came by today so we could exchange valentines!  He got me a card and a gift card to First Watch so we can go on a breakfast date.  Yeah I love him!

We were talking about a meet coming up and concession stands.  Alex: "Justin, how was the concession stand this weekend?"  J: "It came in about second."  L: "Which one is the best?"  J: "Lake Brantley!"  A: "Lake Brantley....with the dirty bathrooms?"  J: "Yes, that is the best one."  A: "Oh, that's because that one time there was a bake sale!  There isn't a bake sale every time Justin."  J: "The bake sale may have influenced my decision.  Lake Brantley is the best!"

Influenced?!  Oh Justin!

Saturday, February 12, 2011

Money!

I needed change today so I sent Justin to the front desk with a five to get singles.  Since he had money in his hand he decided that he need money of his own and he NEEDED a drink!  I told him if he could find money then he could have it and keep it.  I also told him that he could look through my purse and take any money he could find.  J: "Seriously?!"  L: "Seriously!"   Cut to about five minutes later....I was doing CPR testing so I wasn't paying attention to him.  I finish the CPR .... J: "Coach Lori, you don't have any money...all that is in here is your credit cards!"  L: "Oh really, I didn't know!"  

He is still seven and I am still smarter than him!!

Let's see if his mom lets him buy me a Valentine!

Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Valentines!

The cupcake calendar in my office has Valentine's cupcakes for February.  They have those conversation hearts on them.

Justin was reading them...."BFF, QT Pie, TXT Me, XOXO, UR Awesome, ....."  "I don't get it Coach Lori."  L: "Justin, if you read them separately they are all a different valentine message."  J: "QT Pie is kind of a dumb one."  L: "Are you going to get a Valentine for your giiiiiirlfriend?"  J: "Yes, we have to give everyone in our a class a valentine."  L: "No, are you going to get her a special one?"  J: "Umm, no I think."  L: "Well are you going to get me a Valentine?"   J: "No."  L: "No valentine?  I guess I'll take yours back then."  J: "Well, maybe I will get you one."  L: "I thought that since we were BFF's that we would have to get one for each other."  (I really like making him squirm!)  J: "Well we are BFF's so I guess maybe if my mom lets me."  I guess this is what happens when your 'BFF' is seven!

Tomorrow is rock climbing and practice.....it will sure involve a JSotD!!

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Oh Justin!

For the record.
It was about 52 degrees outside today at 6pm when Justin's practice starts.  This would usually equal a fit of tears and "the pool is 40 degrees" when really it's 84 or "I just can't do it" when he is a LIAR!  He got into the pool without a single whine or a single tear.  He chose to swim a 200 fly (which he did straight) AND he kept up with the 14 year old swimming next to him.  He swam about 1500 yards today without a single whine or tear.  He will never get out of practice again.  =]   Oh yeah, he swam a perfect 50 of breast with his left leg out too...the small things!

Anyway...back to the Justin Story of the Day!

Gaby, Liz, Justin and I had a very long complicated discussion about cupcakes yesterday but I will sum it up with some highlights!

Justin: "How much cupcakes do you want?"  Liz: "How many Justin, not how much."   Liz and Justin had that exact same conversation at least seven more times!!  After seven times.....Liz: "Justin, it is many if you are asking about a bunch of little things.  It is much if you are asking about....(Liz thinking)....water!  You wouldn't say 'how many water?' "  Two minutes later.... Justin: "How much cupcakes?"   He is only seven....

Gaby tells Justin she needs 100 cupcakes to eat herself.  Gaby: "I'm hungry and I love cupcakes."  Justin: "You can't eat 100 cupcakes, it's not good for you."  Gaby: "How many cake pops did you eat last week?"  J: "Well, I think about 5."  G: "That is the same as me eating 100 cupcakes.  You are a lot smaller then me so your 5 cake pops is the same as my 100 cupcakes."  Justin looks at her like she has 27 heads!  Lori: "It's ok Justin, Coach Gaby is just messing with you.  It's not the same thing at all!"

Not as funny as usual JSotD but he hasn't been story funny lately!

P.S. When he saw our new fridge today he said "That is the BEST fridge I have even seen."

Monday, February 7, 2011

Ran out of time....

I have run out of time and my brain is a little slow tonight so I will post the story tomorrow but here is a picture of Justin in his 'natural chair' from today!

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Math Whiz!

Math Whiz.....
L: "Justin, how was school today?"  J: "It was ok....we had a math test."  L: "Oh yeah, was it all on double digit subtraction?"  (what we have been working on all week)  J: "Yeah but they put some addition problem in there to try to trick us but they didn't trick me!"  L: "That's good, how did you do?"  J: "I got an A Coach Lori."  L: "How do you know, you got your grade already?"  J: "No, we get our grades next week but I am a math whiz.  I'm the best person in math in my whole class."

Also, when I was making him work and stuff the Training Cuda boxes he was complaining...
J: "Coach Lori, you should be over doing this work and I should be over there 'writing your (air quotes) little emails (air quotes)."    Snot face!

Until next time....

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

More canoeing...

Justin was pretty upset that I made him wear a lifejacket the whole time we were canoeing.  He wanted to know if there was a law or something.  I told him deal with it, he has to wear it! ....
J: "Sometimes you are mean Coach Lori.  I think I'm going to have to tell Santa."  L: "Oh yeah?  I think Santa will be ok with it because I am being safe even though you think that is mean."  J: "I don't think Santa is going to care about you being safe.  He isn't a very safe person and he doesn't care about safety."  L: "What do you mean?" (me thinking...is he serious?)  J: "Well, he just goes down chimneys into random peoples houses and sometimes they have fires and he burns his butt.  He isn't safe at all."  L: "You have a point however you have to wear your lifejacket!!"

Until next time....

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Flashback!

When I don't have a JSotD I am going to do a flashback!


Here is one from 10.12.09:
So yesterday Justin is writing a paper about his pet fish, JJ (Justin Jr). He writes this sentence: "I clean JJ's bowl once a week." So Mrs. Rockaway says, "Justin what a good job using 's all by yourself" (by the way...what 1st grader knows to do that?!?) and Justin says "well I thought that if I used 'his' again it would make it too boring". HAHA! Dude, the kid is amazing and really cute!


Here is one from 12.2.09:
Justin asked for a gold bar for Christmas (along with an XBox 360 & a Game Cube). I asked him why and he told me: "So I can sell it on Ebay and make a million dollars and then I can pay Santa $100 to give me all the presents I want." Seriously!


Until next time....

Monday, January 24, 2011

A Few More Stories from Canoeing...

There was a sign that said "Pets and Grills Prohibited" ...
J: "Pets and girls prohibited."  L: "Justin, it says Grills."  J: "Oh, I think it should say girls, that would be much better."  (silence)  J: "But don't worry Coach Lori, you are older so you aren't a girl, you are a woman so you are still allowed."  L: "Oh great."

On the car ride there Justin is playing a video game in his head....
J: "And down goes Coach Lori and Jeremy."  L: "Did you just kill me in your video game?"  J: "Don't worry Coach Lori, I avenged your death!"  L: "WHAT?!?"  J: "Well, I killed the bad guys that killed you so I avenged your death!"  L: "Oh thanks!"

L: "Oh, do you need a straw?"  J: "No, I need a special liquid traveling device."  L: "Oh sorry."
Where does he come up with these things?!?

Sunday, January 23, 2011

Boyfriends and Girlfriends in Second Grade!

Justin and I had a long talk about boyfriends and girlfriends.  

Some things I learned about them in second grade is that there is only one 'official' boyfriend and girlfriend in Justin's class but there is lots of others but nobody knows about it!  Usually you go up to a girl and tell her you want her to be your girlfriend and she says ok.  When I asked Justin what boyfriends and girlfriends do in second grade he told me that they get made fun of!  He also said that you can't tell people that you are boyfriend and girlfriend because then everyone would laugh at you.  I asked Justin if he had a girlfriend.  He quickly said no and then giggled.  He totally has a girlfriend!  So about twenty minutes later I got to the bottom of the story.  Anna from his class is his girlfriend but they have never talked about it!  L: "Justin, If you haven't ever asked Anna about being your girlfriend then how does she know about it?"  J: "Well Coach Lori, the way we look at each all the time tells me that she wants to be my girlfriend.  We just know by looking at each other and then we don't have to say it out loud and nobody will make fun of us."  L: "So she looks at you like she is your girlfriend?"  J: "YES!"  Apparently I am behind the times! 

I also learned about Justin's lifelong girlfriend plan!  He told me that his dad met his mom in college and then they got married so he doesn't have to worry about it until college.  L: "So are you going to date Anna until college?"  J: "NO, I'm going to date her until I find another girl I like better.  Then I will keep dating girls I like better until I get to college and then the one I've been dating the longest or I guess I like the best I will marry." "But college is a long way away Coach Lori."  Apparently this is how you get married....I missed the boat!

I made Justin promise that since we are 'practically best friends' he has to keep me updated on his girlfriend status.  I'll be sure to keep you updated!

Until the next Justin Story of the Day.....