Thursday, January 27, 2011

Math Whiz!

Math Whiz.....
L: "Justin, how was school today?"  J: "It was ok....we had a math test."  L: "Oh yeah, was it all on double digit subtraction?"  (what we have been working on all week)  J: "Yeah but they put some addition problem in there to try to trick us but they didn't trick me!"  L: "That's good, how did you do?"  J: "I got an A Coach Lori."  L: "How do you know, you got your grade already?"  J: "No, we get our grades next week but I am a math whiz.  I'm the best person in math in my whole class."

Also, when I was making him work and stuff the Training Cuda boxes he was complaining...
J: "Coach Lori, you should be over doing this work and I should be over there 'writing your (air quotes) little emails (air quotes)."    Snot face!

Until next time....

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

More canoeing...

Justin was pretty upset that I made him wear a lifejacket the whole time we were canoeing.  He wanted to know if there was a law or something.  I told him deal with it, he has to wear it! ....
J: "Sometimes you are mean Coach Lori.  I think I'm going to have to tell Santa."  L: "Oh yeah?  I think Santa will be ok with it because I am being safe even though you think that is mean."  J: "I don't think Santa is going to care about you being safe.  He isn't a very safe person and he doesn't care about safety."  L: "What do you mean?" (me thinking...is he serious?)  J: "Well, he just goes down chimneys into random peoples houses and sometimes they have fires and he burns his butt.  He isn't safe at all."  L: "You have a point however you have to wear your lifejacket!!"

Until next time....

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Flashback!

When I don't have a JSotD I am going to do a flashback!


Here is one from 10.12.09:
So yesterday Justin is writing a paper about his pet fish, JJ (Justin Jr). He writes this sentence: "I clean JJ's bowl once a week." So Mrs. Rockaway says, "Justin what a good job using 's all by yourself" (by the way...what 1st grader knows to do that?!?) and Justin says "well I thought that if I used 'his' again it would make it too boring". HAHA! Dude, the kid is amazing and really cute!


Here is one from 12.2.09:
Justin asked for a gold bar for Christmas (along with an XBox 360 & a Game Cube). I asked him why and he told me: "So I can sell it on Ebay and make a million dollars and then I can pay Santa $100 to give me all the presents I want." Seriously!


Until next time....

Monday, January 24, 2011

A Few More Stories from Canoeing...

There was a sign that said "Pets and Grills Prohibited" ...
J: "Pets and girls prohibited."  L: "Justin, it says Grills."  J: "Oh, I think it should say girls, that would be much better."  (silence)  J: "But don't worry Coach Lori, you are older so you aren't a girl, you are a woman so you are still allowed."  L: "Oh great."

On the car ride there Justin is playing a video game in his head....
J: "And down goes Coach Lori and Jeremy."  L: "Did you just kill me in your video game?"  J: "Don't worry Coach Lori, I avenged your death!"  L: "WHAT?!?"  J: "Well, I killed the bad guys that killed you so I avenged your death!"  L: "Oh thanks!"

L: "Oh, do you need a straw?"  J: "No, I need a special liquid traveling device."  L: "Oh sorry."
Where does he come up with these things?!?

Sunday, January 23, 2011

Boyfriends and Girlfriends in Second Grade!

Justin and I had a long talk about boyfriends and girlfriends.  

Some things I learned about them in second grade is that there is only one 'official' boyfriend and girlfriend in Justin's class but there is lots of others but nobody knows about it!  Usually you go up to a girl and tell her you want her to be your girlfriend and she says ok.  When I asked Justin what boyfriends and girlfriends do in second grade he told me that they get made fun of!  He also said that you can't tell people that you are boyfriend and girlfriend because then everyone would laugh at you.  I asked Justin if he had a girlfriend.  He quickly said no and then giggled.  He totally has a girlfriend!  So about twenty minutes later I got to the bottom of the story.  Anna from his class is his girlfriend but they have never talked about it!  L: "Justin, If you haven't ever asked Anna about being your girlfriend then how does she know about it?"  J: "Well Coach Lori, the way we look at each all the time tells me that she wants to be my girlfriend.  We just know by looking at each other and then we don't have to say it out loud and nobody will make fun of us."  L: "So she looks at you like she is your girlfriend?"  J: "YES!"  Apparently I am behind the times! 

I also learned about Justin's lifelong girlfriend plan!  He told me that his dad met his mom in college and then they got married so he doesn't have to worry about it until college.  L: "So are you going to date Anna until college?"  J: "NO, I'm going to date her until I find another girl I like better.  Then I will keep dating girls I like better until I get to college and then the one I've been dating the longest or I guess I like the best I will marry." "But college is a long way away Coach Lori."  Apparently this is how you get married....I missed the boat!

I made Justin promise that since we are 'practically best friends' he has to keep me updated on his girlfriend status.  I'll be sure to keep you updated!

Until the next Justin Story of the Day.....